Fly Tying · On the Vise

“On My Vise”- The Pompadour Wiggle Emerger

Yesterday I tied at Dette Trout Flies Partridge Days Show at the Catskill Fly Fishing Center and Museum.

It’s always a fun show as many of them are, and you get to see “the usual suspects” behind the vise! 😂 Which is awesome because it translates into all of us laughing, Sharing patterns and tying tricks, and talking to many new people coming in the door.

But Every time I tie at show I tie something different, and I do it for a few different reasons. I dont even know what the reason is honestly.

Boredom? filling up my own boxes? Inability to sit still? Tying for a Project healing waters trip? Trying something new that I can see in my head but haven’t put to a hook yet..?

So the night before my drive up as I packed I thought to myself.. “What should I tie? Maybe I should tie some of my articulated nymphs that have been producing so well?”

Sounds good I decided.

But Before I walked out the door I had a better idea, and grabbed a pack of CDC oily puffs.

And the entire drive up all I could think about was I couldn’t wait to get there and turn those wiggle nymphs into emergers!

pompadour wiggle emerger

As we know, CDC is a great material for keeping flies afloat. I also like to use the Marc Petitjean CDC Oil on my CDC flies when I fish them (dont use traditional dry fly floatant on CDC!)

An oily puff is different than a standard CDC feather and when Tied in backwards, leaving the feather stem intact it looks somewhat like an Elvis pompadour!

An added stripe for an Iso that just cant escape

Close up of the tail

Tied in this manner the CDC oily puff will also hold an air bubble inside of it which helps with buoyancy.

looks like a little floating pearl onion! 😂

An emerging insect makes quite a scene when trying to break free of its shuck.

To make a long story short and skip all the technical talk:

It swims as fast as it can towards the surface and fights it on the way up, while fishing you can see them floating past you in erratic up and down movements (also why soft hackles are such great fish catchers during a hatch! so much movement!)

Once reaching the surface of the water it splits open its back and climbs out..all while floating in the surface film.

Its upon that escape that they transform from nymph to adult.

But its a race against time!

This is a very vulnerable time as The shuck is left sub surface, while the internal insect wiggles free and crawls out so that it can escape the prying eyes of a hungry trout.

And All that ruckus seen from below will usually trigger a trout to take a closer look.

fly from below

Other emerging insects such as an isonychia tend to crawl out on to the rocks to transform, but even so.. they still have to get there! So this pattern with a white stripe is another option.

Many emergers I have fished work just fine with out the extra movement from a wiggle shank tail. But every so often they do stop working.. and this may be just what changes that.

underwater shot

Other mayflies dont emerge at all. They get to the surface film and thats as far as they go.

they gave up.

decided “eh.. forget it, im shot. no sense in carrying on.”

“Too tired.”

and While floating along in the current at the top of the water, a trout nabs them.

I

underwater shot

Either way, theyre lunch! Or dinner.. depending on what time you’re fishing.

I look forward to experimenting and fishing with these more and hope this post inspires you to tie something a little different!

Also please stay tuned because a tutorial will be posted within the next week or so!

3 thoughts on ““On My Vise”- The Pompadour Wiggle Emerger

Leave a Reply

