Everything Else · Idle Hands · quilting

Idle Hands: “My contribution to a mini quilt swap”

My inspiration!

 A Quilters guild that I had been a member of before I moved, had a large number of quilters who live all across the United States. During one of our meetings I found out that we had a sign up sheet for a mini quilt swap. I decided to participate and see what I could come up with. It was then that I realized that it was a secret swap, in which you had no contact with your recipient until you were finished and it was received. We were all given the Instagram name of our partner and had to go off of clues they left you or just come up with your own idea.

Everyone was asked to fill out a survey of likes and dislikes, then we were all given someones survey at random a few days later. When it came to my quilt swap partner, her information said that she was a big fan of bright colors and disliked the use of a batiks. If you aren’t sure what a batik is, take a look here at the buck quilt I had made for my husband. A batik is a type of fabric that is used frequently when putting together landscape or photo quilts since it gives an illusion of solid colors without being solid. Something in which my recipient.. hates!

I did a quick outline sketch of her two dogs

After some brain storming I decided that it would be pretty cool to make a mini quilt of her two dogs, but when I went back to my reference papers and saw that she doesn’t like batiks or dark colors such as Brown or black… that pretty much changed my entire plan.

I didn’t give up, I was determined to make this work.

Choosing bright colors for the cuts

While searching for fabrics this also proved to be an extremely fun challenge since I was incorporating everything she liked and disregarding the ‘norm’ when it came to picture quilts.

Adjusting placement

I finished up my project and sent it to her by the deadline, and I’m happy to say that she was ecstatic!

My finished mini photo quilt of her two puppies

Not long after that I received one in the mail for myself! It was sent by a woman in another state who went by my survey that said “I like to fish, and hate neon colors” hahahhaha

This is the quilt that was made for me by my mystery quilt member. I love the fish, blues and greens, the lakes and the suggestion of tree branches. This is going to look awesome in our new cabin
4 thoughts on “Idle Hands: “My contribution to a mini quilt swap”

Leave a Reply

